Building Pride

Not too long ago, the Harrisburg community was a thriving place to live, shop, worship and learn. Some residents remember when they could safely rock on their porches, chat over the fence with their neighbors, and walk to the curb market on a summer evening. In recent years, Harrisburg has experienced disinvestment, and the pride that once radiated through the community has dwindled. Turn Back the Block is a plan to return that sense of pride in the neighborhood and change lives for the better.

Building Community

Recent statistics show that 22% of Harrisburg Homes are vacant or abandoned, and that less than 20% of the homes are owner-occupied. The ownership rate is nearly three times less than the national rate. Turn Back the Block is founded on the belief that home ownership is the axis for community transition. Using the existing housing stock in this historic mill village, Turn Back the Block enables individuals and families the opportunity to participate in the rehabilitation of their future homes via sweat equity. Our Family Selection and Shepherding Committee qualifies applicants and assists them in the process of home ownership, both before and after closing. Turn Back The Block offers low and interest- free mortgages to participants, and utilizes all payments to further our mission in Harrisburg.

Building a Future

Turn Back the Block recognizes that change will happen on a house by house, block by block ¬†basis, and only with the strong support of this community. Donations of property, funds, materials and labor are critical to the success of this project. Please join as an individual, business, or place of worship to help us “Turn Back the Block” in Harrisburg.

Board Members

Jim Bennett, President and Finance Chair

Garon Muller, Vice President

Clay Boardman, Treasurer 

Jo Ann Johnson, Secretary

Mike Gardner, Construction Committee Chair

Rick Herring, Family Selection & Shepherding Committee Chair

Phin Hitchcock, Outreach Committee Co-Chair

Brannon Sell, Site Selection Committee Chair

Lisa Taylor, Special Events Chair

Anne Catherine Murray

Bert Harbin

Tony Loop

Chrissy Cunningham

Nick Blume

Christel Snyder


Lauren Dallas, Executive Director, lauren@turnbacktheblock.com, (706) 262-4000

Turn Back The Block is a 501c3 organization.